Section 1 Results

NYS Results

NYSPHSAA State Championship Results

NCAA Div 1 Results

2007 Section 2 Wrestling Division 2 Small School Sectional Results

GLENS FALLS -- Duanesburg wrestler Amy Whitbeck became somewhat of a celebrity a year ago, when she became the first female high school wrestler to reach the state tournament.


Local television and radio stations came calling, even the "Today" show wanted her to appear.

But after what happened Saturday at Glens Falls Civic Center, Whitbeck seems less of a novelty than she did last season.

For the second consecutive year, she advanced to the state tournament (March 2-3, Times Union Center), defeating Hudson Falls junior Kirk Harrington 11-6 in the Division II 103-pound final at the Section II state qualifier.

But Whitbeck isn't the only girl moving on to the next round. Schuylerville freshman Sarah Anderson, third at 96 pounds last season, advanced by pinning Watervliet freshman John Delaney in the finals at 96 pounds.

Whitbeck and Anderson said the day will come when girl wrestlers no longer make headlines because of their gender.

"I think in the future that day will come," Whitbeck said. "There are many more girls wrestling this year than last year."

Anderson agreed.

"I hope girls see what we're doing and say to themselves, 'That could be me,' " she said. "We're proving it can be done."

More highlights from Saturday:

: Schalmont senior Jeremy Cuomo gave himself a birthday present to remember, defeating Duanesburg's Evan Borst of 17-8 to win the title. Cuomo advances to the state tournament for the second consecutive year. He won the state title at 103 pounds a year ago.

: Duanesburg's Brian Borst reached the state tournament for the second consecutive year. He pinned Ravena senior Emanuel Hernandez in the final. He won the Section II state qualifier at 103 pounds last season.

: Ed Gavin came into the state qualifier as the No. 1 seed in Division II and wrestled like the top seed once the tournament started. He won by pin, major decision and pin before defeating Johnstown's Joey Morrison 13-0 in the final.

: Hadley-Luzerne's Joe Still and Granville's Andy Winchell wrestled in one of the tournament's more competitive matches. It was tied at 8 at the end of regulation before Still scored in overtime to win 10-8.

: Galway's John Gochenour steamrolled through the division, winning by pin and technical fall before pinning Hudson Falls senior Kevin Whaley at 3:01 of the final.

: Hudson Falls junior Nate Cross advanced to the state tournament by defeating Wes Coppolo of Duanesburg 5-2 in the final. Cross also won by pin and an 11-2 decision to show why he was the top seed in his weight class.

: Cobleskill junior Robert Merchant was the tournament's only wrestler to earn a title without allowing a point. He won 10-0 and 5-0 before defeating Corinth's Brian Mann 2-0 in the final.

: Ravena junior Cody Legg advanced to the state tournament by upsetting Hudson Falls junior Aaron Barber 6-2 in overtime. Barber, who reached the state tournament last season, was the top seed.

: Duanesburg's David Larson suffered the heartbreaker of the tournament. He led Salem's Brad Mattison 6-5 before being whistled for stalling with eight seconds remaining in the final. Mattison was given a point to tie the score at 6. Then, with three seconds to play, Mattison won 11-6 on a takedown.

1: Ravena senior Nate Graham entered the state qualifier as the No. 1 seed, and he also left on top, advancing with a 4-3 victory over Salem's Alex Ferrara.

: Albany Academy sophomore Ben Krakower will remember the final for years to come for two reasons. Not only did he advance to the state tournament with a 3-2 victory over Whitehall's Jedd Mason, he also recorded his 100th career victory. Krakower took the title by scoring on a takedown with 10 seconds remaining.

: Hudson Falls senior Ryan Woodward showed why he was the No. 1 seed, winning by pin and a 5-1 decision before defeating Warrensburg's Logan Rock 8-2.

: The big boys endured the night's longest match. When it finally ended, after three overtimes, Ravena senior Donnie McBride took the title over Schuylerville sophomore Dan Ladd.

Back to NYS Results